strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community

AAVSB announces 2013-2014 Board of Directors

  • Date: October 1, 2013
  • Contact: Chrissy Bagby, AAVSB Member Services Coordinator
  • 1-877-698-8482


Kansas City, MO. The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce the members of its 2013-2014 Board of Directors. Elections were held at the AAVSB Annual Meeting and Conference in Kansas City on September 21, 2013. Beckey Malphus, DVM, moved from her position as President-Elect into the President position and will serve a one-year term in that role.

Dr. Malphus joined the AAVSB Board of Directors in 2008. She has served on the organization's Finance Committee and Practice Act Model Task Force and also served as Board liaison for the Conference and PAVE Committees. A resident of Thomasville, GA, Dr. Malphus is co-owner of Clanton Malphus Hodges Veterinary Hospital where she has special interest in soft tissue and orthopedic surgery, geriatrics, oncology, and reproduction. She was named Veterinarian of the Year in 2010 by the Georgia Veterinary Medical Association. Dr. Malphus graduated from the University of Florida with a Bachelors in Animal & Poultry Sciences. She attended the College of Veterinary Medicine at the University of Georgia where she served as her class president.

Members of the Board of Directors work as a team to promote the mission of the AAVSB and to provide governance for the organization. "Dr. Malphus' ongoing dedication to the veterinary profession and to public protection is remarkable. The current Board of Directors is a highly qualified, committed group, and I look forward to working with Dr. Malphus and the Board in the upcoming year," states Robyn Kendrick, AAVSB Executive Director.

The current Board of Directors consists of the following individuals:

  • Beckey Malphus, DVM (Georgia), President
  • Anne Duffy, RVT (Iowa), Immediate Past-President
  • John Lawrence, DVM (Minnesota), President-Elect
  • Frank Walker, DVM (North Dakota), Treasurer
  • Michael Gotchey, DVM (Colorado), Director
  • Tom Kendall, DVM (California), Director
  • Mark Olson, DVM (Kansas), Director
  • Roger Redman, DVM (Ohio), Director
  • Robyn Kendrick, Secretary & Executive Director


Return to AAVSB News Releases