strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community
  • Date: November 17, 2014
  • Contact: Chrissy Bagby, AAVSB Member Services Coordinator
  • 1-877-698-8482

The AAVSB Administers First Qualifying Science Exam (QSE) of the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence (PAVE)

Kansas City, MO (November 17, 2014) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to report the first administration of its PAVE Qualifying Science Exam (QSE) took place in September of this year. Taking and passing the QSE represents the third step in a PAVE candidate's journey through the program.

Launched in 2002, the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence, more commonly known as PAVE evaluates the education equivalence of foreign veterinary graduates (graduates of non-accredited veterinary programs outside the U.S. and Canada) on behalf of the AAVSB membership. In September of 2013 at the AAVSB's Annual Meeting & Conference in Kansas City, Missouri, the AAVSB Board of Directors announced the plan for the evolution of the PAVE program which included development of the new Qualifying Science Exam (QSE). This plan built upon the solid foundation of the program and introduced elements allowing for further growth. Since that time, a team of subject-matter experts, an examination services vendor and the AAVSB staff developed the exam which was completed this past spring.

The QSE is wholly owned by the AAVSB and is administered three different times in the calendar year. PAVE is accepted as part of the licensure process in 40 states and in the countries of Australia and New Zealand.

About AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to reliably provide quality resources and accurate information for veterinary regulatory agencies and professionals in the interest of public protection. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 59 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and six Canadian provinces: Alberta, Ontario, British Columbia, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan, and Nova Scotia.

Return to AAVSB News Releases