strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community

  • Date: October 6, 2014
  • Contact: Chrissy Bagby, AAVSB Member Services Coordinator
  • 1-877-698-8482


The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) Announces 2014-2015 Board of Directors

Kansas City, MO (October 6, 2014) The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce the members of its 2014-2015 Board of Directors. Elections were held at the AAVSB Annual Meeting and Conference in St. Petersburg, Florida on September 13, 2014. John Lawrence, DVM, moved from his position as President-Elect into the President position and will serve a one-year term in that role.

Dr. Lawrence joined the AAVSB Board of Directors in 2007. He has served as the organization's Treasurer and Chair of the Finance Committee as well as a member of the VIVA Task Force and as Board liaison for the Conference and PAVE Committees. In 2010, Dr. Lawrence was appointed to the Board of Directors of the North American Veterinary Medical Educational Consortium (NAVMEC) as one of AAVSB's representatives. Over the course of three national meetings, 400 stakeholders convened to discuss core competencies and societal needs in veterinary medicine. Lawrence is a veterinarian at Smith Veterinary Hospital in Burnsville, Minnesota, and has a special interest in endoscopy, cytology and general surgery. He has served on the Minnesota Board of Veterinary Medicine for the last 12 years, most recently as its President. In 2009, Lawrence was appointed to the AVMA CVTEA (Committee on Veterinary Technician Education and Activities) subcommittee. This committee reviews veterinary technician programs throughout the United States and Canada for AVMA accreditation. He has been honored with the Louisiana Academy of Veterinary Medicine's Outstanding Service Award. Lawrence graduated from Iowa State University and is currently licensed in good standing in Mississippi, Louisiana, Iowa and Minnesota. He is a member of the Minnesota Veterinary Medical Association, the American Veterinary Medical Association and the National Association of Underwater Instructors.

"As a long time member of the AAVSB Board of Directors, I've seen the impressive work that's been done by the organization and its members," said Lawrence. "I look forward to building upon AAVSB's successes as we continue to collaborate with our members and communities in the interest of public protection across North America."

Members of the Board of Directors work as a team to promote the mission of the AAVSB and to provide governance for the organization. "The AAVSB is privileged to have a Board composed of the best leadership for advancing initiatives in the interest of public protection and regulation," said AAVSB Executive Director Robyn Kendrick. "Dr. Lawrence understands the challenges we face and brings to the Presidency a passion for outreach and excellence in service, both of which will strengthen AAVSB's impact in attaining its mission."

Also joining the AAVSB Board of Directors is Chris H. Runde, DVM, who has served as Chairman of the AAVSB Bylaws and Resolutions Committee since 2011. Dr. Runde has also served on the Maryland State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners since 2003 and as its Chairman since 2004. A graduate of the University of Maryland, Runde received his veterinary training at Virginia-Maryland Regional College of Veterinary Medicine in Blacksburg, Virginia.

The current Board of Directors consists of the following individuals:

  • John Lawrence, DVM (Minnesota), President
  • Beckey Malphus, DVM (Georgia), Immediate Past President
  • Tom Kendall, DVM (California), President-Elect
  • Frank Walker, DVM (North Dakota), Treasurer
  • Michael Gotchey, DVM (Colorado), Director
  • Mark Olson, DVM (Kansas), Director
  • Roger Redman, DVM (Ohio), Director
  • Chris Runde, DVM (Maryland), Director
  • Robyn Kendrick, DVM Ex-Officio Member (non-voting), Secretary & Executive Director


About the AAVSB:The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to reliably provide quality resources and accurate information for veterinary regulatory agencies and professionals in the interest of public protection. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 59 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and six Canadian provinces: Alberta, Ontario, British Columbia, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Saskatchewan.

Return to AAVSB News Releases