strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community
  • Date: December 3, 2015
  • Contact: Lainie Franklin, Member Services & Marketing Coordinator
  • 1-877-698-8482

New Brunswick Joins the AAVSB as 60th Member Board

Kansas City, MO (December 3, 2015) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce that the AAVSB Board of Directors has approved the New Brunswick Veterinary Medical Association's (NBVMA) application to join the AAVSB as its 60th Member Board. Membership in the AAVSB has increased by three jurisdictions in the last three years.

The AAVSB Bylaws states, "A Board shall mean the governmental agency empowered to credential and regulate the practice of veterinary medicine in any of the States and Commonwealths of the United States, its territories, the District of Columbia, and insular possessions of the United States, individual provinces of Canada, and additional comparative entities."

Incorporated under the Act Respecting the New Brunswick Veterinary Medical Association, the NBVMA holds the responsibility to regulate the practice of veterinary medicine and govern its members in accordance with this Act. The NBVMA and its licensees strive for excellence in the practice of veterinary medicine, through their continuing education programs, the setting of practice standards, practice inspections, and the work of the NBVMA Council, committees and members.

Jim Penrod, AAVSB Executive Director, noted, "The AAVSB is looking forward to providing our full range of programs and services that will support the NBVMA as they carry out their public protection mission and duty to effectively regulate the practice of veterinary medicine in New Brunswick."

For more information about the NBVMA, please visit:

About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to reliably provide quality resources and accurate information for veterinary regulatory agencies and professionals in the interest of public protection. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 60 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and seven Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

Return to AAVSB News Releases