strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community
  • Date: September 27, 2017
  • Contact: Lainie Franklin, Member Services & Marketing Specialist
  • 1-877-698-8482

AAVSB® Announces 2017-2018 Board of Directors

Kansas City, MO (September 27, 2017) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce its new President and members of the 2017-2018 Board of Directors. Elections were held at the 2017 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference in San Antonio, Texas on September 16, 2017. At this meeting, Mark Olson, DVM, moved into the President position. He will serve in this role for a one-year term.

Dr. Olson has served on the AAVSB Board of Directors since 2013, most recently as President-Elect. He has also served the AAVSB on the VTNE Committee, Leadership Development Task Force, and PAVE Committee. He is a former member of the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners and is a licensed veterinarian in the states of Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska.

Michael Gotchey, DVM, was elected to the President-Elect position, moving from his position as Treasurer. He will serve a one-year term. Chris Runde, DVM, was elected to the Treasurer position from a Director position and will serve a two-year term.

Timothy Kolb, DVM, was elected to the position of Director. He is new to the Board of Directors and will serve a two-year term. Dr. Kolb previously served the AAVSB as Chair of the Bylaws and Resolution Committee and as a member of the Leadership Development Task Force. He is a member of the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board and is a licensed veterinarian in Ohio.

Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM, and Leslie Knachel were both reelected to the position of Director and will each serve two-year terms.

The 2017-2018 AAVSB Board of Directors, in its entirety, consists of the following individuals:

Mark Olson, DVM (Kansas), President
Michael Gotchey, DVM (Colorado), President-Elect
Frank Walker, DVM (North Dakota), Immediate Past President
Chris Runde, DVM (Maryland), Treasurer
Vito DelVento, DVM (District of Columbia), Director
Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM (North Carolina), Director
Leslie Knachel (Virginia), Director
Timothy Kolb, DVM (Ohio), Director
Larry McTague, DVM (Oklahoma), Director
Roger Redman, DVM (Ohio), Director
James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA, Ex-Officio Member (non-voting), Secretary and Executive Director

Pictured from left: Frank Walker, DVM - Immediate Past President, James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA - Secretary & Executive Director, Mark Olson, DVM - President, Tim Kolb, DVM - Director, Roger Redman, DVM - Director, Larry McTague, DVM - Director,
Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM - Director, Chris Runde, DVM - Treasurer, Michael Gotchey, DVM - President-Elect, Leslie Knachel - Director,
Vito DelVento, DVM - Director

About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to support and advance the regulatory process for veterinary medicine. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 62 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and nine Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

Return to AAVSB News Releases