strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community
  • Date: January 11, 2017
  • Contact: Lainie Franklin, Member Services & Marketing Specialist
  • 1-877-698-8482

Arkansas Becomes 44th Jurisdiction to Accept PAVE®

Kansas City, MO (January 11, 2017) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB®) is pleased to announce that the Arkansas Veterinary Medical Examining Board is the 44th jurisdiction to accept the PAVE Certificate as part of the licensure process for foreign veterinary graduates. PAVE is the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education Equivalence and the program evaluates the education equivalence of foreign veterinary graduates (graduates of non-accredited veterinary programs outside the U.S. and Canada) on behalf of participating AAVSB Member Boards.

"A foreign veterinary graduate who has completed the PAVE Program through the AAVSB has proven English proficiency, passed the Qualifying Science Examination (QSE), and completed an Evaluated Clinical Experience at an American Veterinary Medical Association Council on Education (AVMA COE) accredited institution," remarked Nancy Grittman, AAVSB Director of Examinations. "Arkansas is the latest in a growing list of veterinary licensing boards that accept the PAVE Certificate of Completion as part of the veterinary credential process."

AAVSB Executive Director James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA, added, "The AAVSB is the primary source for comprehensive information that strategically strengthens the veterinary regulatory community. PAVE is one of the AAVSB's key programs. Arkansas will benefit greatly from utilizing it."

All prospective veterinarians that wish to practice in the United States must also pass the North American Veterinary Licensing Examination (NAVLE®) and fulfill any other requirements set forth by the jurisdiction where the individual wishes to practice.

About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to support and advance the regulatory process for veterinary medicine. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 61 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and eight Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

Learn more about PAVE

Return to AAVSB News Releases