strengthening the veterinary

regulatory community
  • Date: June 13, 2017
  • Contact: Lainie Franklin, Member Services & Marketing Specialist
  • 1-877-698-8482

Newfoundland & Labrador Joins the AAVSB® as 62nd Member Board

Kansas City, MO (June 13, 2017) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce that the AAVSB Board of Directors has approved the Newfoundland and Labrador College of Veterinarians' (NL Vet College) application to join the AAVSB as its 62nd Member Board. The NL Vet College is the fifth jurisdiction to join the AAVSB in the last five years.

The NL Vet College is a public interest group mandated by the Provincial Veterinary Medical Act to manage the licensing and discipline of veterinarians in the Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador.

James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA, AAVSB Executive Director, said, "We're thrilled to add Newfoundland and Labrador to our long list of member licensing boards. The AAVSB's comprehensive suite of programs and services will no doubt lessen the administrative burden on the NL Vet College and will benefit the province's licensees for the life of their license."

The AAVSB Bylaws states, "A Board shall mean the governmental agency empowered to credential and regulate the practice of veterinary medicine in any of the States and Commonwealths of the United States, its territories, the District of Columbia, and insular possessions of the United States, individual provinces of Canada, and additional comparative entities."

For more information about the NL Vet College, please visit:

For more information about the AAVSB, please visit:

About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to support and advance the regulatory process for veterinary medicine. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 62 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and nine Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.

Return to AAVSB News Releases