The AAVSB Delegate Assembly Elects 2023-2024 Board of Directors & Leadership

Overland Park, KS (October 11, 2022) – The AAVSB is pleased to announce its new President and members of the 2022-2023 Board of Directors. Elections were held at the 2023 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference in Kansas City, MO on Saturday, September 30, 2023. At this meeting, Kim Gemeinhardt moved into the position of President. She will serve in this role for a one-year term. "I am honored and proud to be the President of the AAVSB. This year, we are going to look forward and dream big. Don’t tell me why you can’t, but instead, how you can. With your input and an open mind, we will work hard to make it a reality," shared Dr. Gemeinhardt

Dr. Gemeinhardt served as the AAVSB President-elect from 2022-2023 and Treasurer from 2019-2022. From 2015-2019, she served as Director. From 2013-2015, she served on the AAVSB Conference Committee and was Chair of the committee in 2015. Dr. Gemeinhardt was appointed to the North Carolina Veterinary Medical Board in 2010 and served until 2020. From 2015-2017, she served as President.

Dr. Frank Richardson will be President-Elect from 2023-2024. Dr. Richardson has served as a member of the AAVSB Finance Committee from 2015-2018, as well as Director since 2018. He previously served as the Registrar and CEO of the Novia Scotia Veterinary Medical Association.

Dr. Sheila Dodson was elected to the position of Director. She will serve a 2-year term. Dr. Dodson was President of the Kansas Board of Veterinary Examiners from 2017-2022 and Treasurer and Vice President in 2016.

Mark Nunez, DVM was re-elected to the position of Director after completing a one-year term where he filled a vacancy. He will now serve a two-year term. Dr. Nunez has served on the AAVSB Programs & Services Think Tank since 2019 as a member. He has served on the California Veterinary Medical Board since 2013 and served as President from 2015-2016 and again in 2021.

Dr. Greg Parks was elected to the position of Director. He will serve a 2-year term. Dr. Parks serves as the Registrar and Chief Executive Officer of the Saskatchewan Veterinary Medical Association and brings with him practical veterinary experience gained from not only private and academic settings but also as a practicing veterinarian and senior manager.

The 2022-2023 AAVSB Board of Directors in its entirety consists of the following individuals:

Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM (North Carolina), President

Frank Richardson, DVM (Nova Scotia), President-Elect

Leslie Knachel, MPH (Virginia), Immediate Past President

Timothy Kolb, DVM (Ohio), Treasurer

Sheila Dodson, DVM (Kansas), Director

Amy Haywood, LVT (District of Columbia), Director

Kim Riker-Brown, DVM (Ohio), Director

Mark Nunez, DVM (California), Director

Greg Parks, DVM (Saskatchewan), Director

Michelle Shane (Kentucky), Director

James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA (non-voting), Secretary and Chief Executive Officer

The AAVSB also elected two additional leadership positions at the 2023 Annual Meeting & Conference.

Amy Station, LVT, Ed.D., Elite FFCP was elected to the Nominating Committee. Dr. Staton was appointed to the KBVE in April 2017 as the first licensed veterinary technician to serve on the Kentucky board. During her tenure, she has been an asset to the board’s regulatory initiatives and committee work. She has served on the Applications Committee, Government Affairs Committee, Education and Outreach Committee, and the Complaints Screening Committee. Dr. Staton has been a highly engaged participant and brings valuable perspectives to the board. Dr. Staton has been attending AAVSB Annual Meetings since September 2020.

Helen Tuzio, DVM was elected to the role of Representative to the ICVA – Veterinarian. Dr. Tuzio has served the NYS Board for Veterinary Medicine for more than 20 years. She was first appointed by the NYS Board of Regents (BOR) to the NYS Board for Veterinary Medicine in 2003 and served two terms for the maximum ten years as a full member. Since then, she has been appointed three more times by the BOR to the NYS Veterinary Medicine Extended Board, with a current term due to expire in 2028. Because of her commitment to public safety and ensuring the highest standards of professionalism in veterinary medicine, Dr. Tuzio was nominated to be a delegate to AAVSB shortly after her appointment to the Board. Her service to AAVSB was recognized when she was elected to the Board of Directors of AAVSB the

following year and reaffirmed when she was elected President of the Board of Directors. Her service within AAVSB is well known.

[email protected]

About the AAVSB: The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation headquartered in Overland Park, Kansas. We are an association of veterinary medicine regulatory boards whose membership includes licensing bodies in 63 jurisdictions, including all of the United States, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and the ten Canadian provinces.