AAVSB Elects 2018-2019 Board of Directors

AAVSB Elects 2018-2019 Board of Directors

Washington, DC (September 15, 2018) - The American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) is pleased to announce its new President and members of the 2018-2019 Board of Directors. Elections were held at the 2018 AAVSB Annual Meeting & Conference in Washington, DC on September 15, 2018. At this meeting, Michael Gotchey, DVM, moved into the President position. He will serve in this role for a one-year term.

Dr. Gotchey has served on the AAVSB Board of Directors since 2012, most recently as President-Elect. He has also served the AAVSB as Treasurer, Director, and as a member of the PAVE Committee. He is a former member and President of the Colorado State Board of Veterinary Medicine and is a licensed veterinarian in the state of Colorado.

Roger Redman, DVM, was elected to the President-Elect position, moving from his position as Director. He will serve a one-year term. Dr. Redman has served on the AAVSB Board of Directors since 2013, most recently as Director. He has also served as a member of the Bylaws & Resolution Committee and the Finance Committee. He was a member of the Ohio Veterinary Medical Licensing Board from 2006-2016. Dr. Redman is a licensed veterinarian in Ohio.

Frank Richardson, DVM, was elected to the position of Director. He is new to the Board of Directors and will serve a two-year term. Dr. Richardson previously served the AAVSB as a member of the Finance Committee. He has been the Registrar/CEO of the Nova Scotia Veterinary Medical Association since 1990 and is a licensed veterinarian in Nova Scotia.

Vito DelVento, DVM, and Larry McTague, DVM, were both reelected to the position of Director, where they will each serve a two-year term.

The 2018-2019 AAVSB Board of Directors, in its entirety, consists of the following individuals:

Michael Gotchey, DVM (Colorado), President
Roger Redman, DVM (Ohio), President-Elect
Mark Olson, DVM (Kansas), Immediate Past President
Chris Runde, DVM (Maryland), Treasurer
Vito DelVento, DVM (District of Columbia), Director
Kim Gemeinhardt, DVM (North Carolina), Director
Leslie Knachel (Virginia), Director
Timothy Kolb, DVM (Ohio), Director
Larry McTague, DVM (Oklahoma), Director
Frank Richardson, DVM (Nova Scotia), Director

James T. Penrod, CAE, FASLA, Ex-Officio Member (non-voting), Secretary & Executive Director

About the AAVSB: The AAVSB is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization whose mission is to support and advance the regulatory process for veterinary medicine. The membership of the AAVSB consists of 62 jurisdictions representing all of the United States and the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, and nine Canadian provinces: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, and Saskatchewan.